top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Wellesley

Weekend just passed I found myself in one of my favourite cities, London. Of course I remember old London town in the sixities and beleive me when I say we had some parties and fandangos that went on for days. Alas all things change, but some for the better.

The new Wellesley hotel has bought into the chic age of Jazz in a big way, dedicating not only a smoking terrace to the greats of the age but also a wonderful space recalling my memories of George Melly, Scott Hamilton, Nat Gonella, Claire Martin, Barbara Cook, John Dankworth and Cleo Laine, Steve Ross, Marlene VerPlanck and a long list of others on the international circuit. The hotel recently created sits in place of the once renowned Pizza on the Park.Dankworth went straight there after getting his knighthood at Buckingham Palace and I remember the celebrations going on for three days. Oh to be young again. Anyway I thought you might like a glimpse of the interiors designed by a great young interior wizard by the name of Dennis Irving. Oh and before I forget my old freinds at Bond Worth made the carpet!

My Junior Suite, bespoke furniture, carpet and mirrors, great light and space

The Jazz Room

Cigar terrace; love the rug and leather recliners

The Wellesley reminds me of the great liners of the 30's & 40's, unabashed luxury and decadence.


bottom of page